Sabtu, 14 Januari 2012

Mulinge voted best Ulinzi player

Harambee Stars defender James Mulinge Ndeto was crowned Ulinzi Stars player of the year during a colourful team award ceremony held at the 81 Tank Battalion in Lanet, Nakuru.

Mulinge was given the nod following his consistency and commitment in the team throughout last season. He received a glittering trophy and a cash token of shs.10, 000 from Brigadier P.L Elepakio.

Addressing the players, Elepakio congratulated the team for finishing second in the league.

“We are proud of your performance because finishing second in the league is not a bad show. You demonstrated team spirit, quality and discipline which has always been our hallmark. I’m urging you to work even better this season and reclaim the KPL trophy.”

At the same tourney, Francis Onyiso officially announced his retirement and was awarded the Hall of Fame trophy.

Four new players were unveiled in the ceremony. They include former Gor Mahia striker Wycliffe Ochomo, former Congo United duo of Mohammed Hassan and Amon Mwamburi and Anthony Murithi.

Team manager Jack Matanguta told that former Western Stima midfielder Kevin Amway will join the team next week after the club finalises his transfer formalities.

Other players who received special recognition included Jacktone Odhiambo (best Goalkeeper), Geoffrey Kokoyo (best defender), Chester Okoyo (best midfielder), Stephen Waruru (top scorer) and Lawrence Owino who received the most disciplined player award.

Three players led by long serving Hussein Mohamed,Anthony Nderitu and Eric Apul received the Chairman award trophy.

Ulinzi Stars finished second last season in the KPL league after amassing 57 points, one point adrift from defending champs Tusker FC.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar